DISCOVER UPTON

A devastating fire in 1926 at the newspaper offices in Upton turned to ash much of the town’s early records. As a result, most of the town’s history has been drawn from the scant remaining records and the testimony of old timers from the area. According to the authoritative work Weston County, Wyoming: The First 100 Years, compiled by the  Weston County Heritage Group in 1988, the town of Upton can trace its roots to the mid-1880s, when it likely served as a supply stop for the ranchers, cowboys and homesteaders who were rapidly populating the area.

Before the founding of Upton, Iron Town was established nearby in the late 1880s on the banks of Iron Creek.  According to Weston County, Wyoming: The First 100 Years, “There was no running water in the creek, only holes and reservoirs of standing water. It was said that the only good thing you could say about the water was that it was ‘wet.’ It was a brackish, metallic-tasting liquid.” In his work Only a Cow Country, author Dick Nelson, who visited Iron Town as part of a surveying crew, made note of the lively night life that possessed the town even in those early days. “…The noise and laughter from the saloon girls and cowboys kept them awake all night. About sunup the next morning, two of the cowboys from the night before were dragging one of the ‘girls’ to the edge of the city’s well. She was tossed in, dunked several times, and then pulled out.  One of the tent restaurant’s employees stood patiently by,  watching until the two were done helping the lady take her morning bath.  When they were finished, the employee stooped down and dipped up a pail of water, took it back to the restaurant, and started the morning coffee brewing.” 

ron Town would eventually be abandoned when the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad laid 25 miles of new track from Newcastle in the summer of 1890, and established a railroad depot at the site of present-day Upton.  Following the terrible winter storms of 1886 and 1887 that decimated the cattle industry in the area, many ranchers and homesteaders moved into the sheep business, where the Merino was the most popular breed. The 1890 railroad line extension from Newcastle served the centralized sheep shearing pens and allowed sheepmen to ship their wool to markets in Omaha and Kansas City.  The sheep camp was named Merino in honor of the sheep. Although the sheep industry eventually began to decline, a new railroad depot and supply station opened in 1892, which saved the town from completely fading into history. 

Interior of Upton's Red Onion Saloon in 1914.

Adding to Merino’s challenges, a new town in Colorado was established and also named Merino, causing some confusion with mail delivery. In 1901, Merino, Wyoming, changed its name to Upton in honor of A. Z. “George” Upton, a surveyor for the railroad.  

The town of Upton has changed dramatically over the years due to the ups and downs of industry, business, wartime, and peace. One of the most significant changes to the town came in the early 1930s when a road was constructed connecting it to Moorcroft, some 20 miles away. Businesses began to spring up along this roadway, and today the stretch of Highway 16 through Upton marks the heart of the downtown area. 

In 2025, there were 900 residents in Upton. The town attracts visitors to the community with its beautiful City Park, historic Old Town and the Red Onion Museum, and the Cedar Pines Golf Course. Today, the railroad, ranching, oil and bentonite mining continue to be major economic development drivers in Upton.

Diagram of old Upton drawn by Don Gose.


Old Town

Fans of Old West history will want to stop at “Old Town,” the site of the old Irontown settlement which has been rebuilt by the people of Upton in recent years.

Visitors can enjoy tours of the interactive site, which features historic cabins and buildings from the early days of the town. A sod house was constructed in 1997 using a Depression-era sod cutter with materials from Bill Barton’s ranch west of Upton.

Other structures relocated to the Old Town site include the Clingan cabin, Hawkins cabin, Rankin log house, Hawkins blacksmith shop, Upton’s old fire hall, the Plachy ice house, Osage’s “house of ill-repute,” and Watt’s water tank, barn, corral and blacksmith shop. In addition, several wagons have been restored and are on display in Old Town.

You can find more information about Old Town here, and a map to the site below.

 
  • DOWNLOAD

    The Weston County Museum Brochure

  • MAKE THE LOOP

    Explore historic
    Upton, Wyoming